Longing

About a month ago I posted this: 

Whenever I read about the religious life, watch videos of solemn professions I feel the deepest longing in my heart to lead that life. It is beyond any other passion or longing and I cannot even describe the feeling that takes over me. I find myself weeping, partly with joy, partly with longing and partly for the days I must wait until I can be fully and totally consecrated to my Beloved and be able to say to the whole world “I am a Bride of Christ, I belong fully and only to Him.”



That hasn’t changed. I think about applying, about entering, about living that life, about consecrating myself to God forever, and the joy is indescribable. I want it so badly. I’m just confused about what to do now. All I know is that when I think about entering religious life there is this longing in my heart that takes over me, I believe with every fibre of my being that it’s my calling. I get scared and confused and worried but that longing overtakes all that. I was reading an article in the diocesan newspaper written by a then novice at St. Cecilia’s (now the solemnly professed Sr Elizabeth) and I just get overwhelmed by the desire to be a part of them.

9 thoughts on “Longing

  1. I think I've actually managed to find somewhere for about £20, they just don't have the size I'm after. It's not the end of the world, I'm happy with the veils I have at the moment but if the size I want comes back into stock I'll have to take a look. I know a good mantilla should last me for a very long time so I don't mind spending a little more.

Leave a Reply

