Goodbyes

Writing yesterday evening about one of my close friends leaving for America made me think more about my own possible entrance. This friend has always been very dear to me. We lived together until he graduated university and I remember even that separation was sad. But I could always text or send him a Facebook message or something, and he comes to visit us. And even once he’s moved you can email, Skype, Facebook, etc. So if even a separation that still leaves so much contact available, how are my friends and family going to feel about the limited contact they will have with me?

I have come to terms with the fact that there are people who will no longer be a part of my life. But I reconcile that by thinking that these are people I’d probably fall out of contact with anyway. I cannot remember the contact limitations for friends at St. Cecilia’s. Family can visit twice a year, for a few days at a time, or can come for one week once a year if the family is travelling far. You can write to your family once a month. I don’t know what the rules are for friends, I can’t remember if I asked or not. I wonder how many of my friends, even those I am close to, will want to keep in contact with me. I fear it will be very few, because I do not think they will understand the choice I am making.

I have reached the stage, finally, where I am ready to tell people. I am ready to start answering those questions. I didn’t want to tell anyone until I had the final approval but I have realised that I am at a stage in my life where people are going to be asking me what I plan to do when I leave university, and I can’t keep saying I don’t know.

Leave a Reply

