Flaws

This is something I wrote as a response to a concern expressed by a friend and is something I have often seen people ask when discerning a vocation. People often questions their ability to do what God is asking them. They look at their flaws and think “How can I do this?”.

[Exodus 4:10-12] Moses said to the Lord, “But, my Lord, never in my life have I been a man of eloquence, either before or since you have spoken to your servant. I am a slow speaker and not able to speak well.” “Who gave man his mouth?” the Lord answered him. “Who makes him dumb or deaf, gives him sight or leaves him blind? Now go, I shall help you to speak and tell you what to say.”

The Lord may sometimes give us tasks that seem impossible, and we might questions as Moses did “Why me, Lord? How is this possible?” We forget that in Him nothing is impossible. What we cannot accomplish alone becomes within our grasp when we put out trust in Him and depend on His help. We are always going to have our flaws and our weaknesses. There will be things that worry and scare us. But if we trust in Him and do His will then He will strengthen us and carry us where we are weak. As Saint Paul said, “There is nothing I cannot master without the help of the One who gives me strength.” [Philippians 4:13]

God does not ask us to always stay on the easy path. Christ said that the road to eternal life is narrow and hard [Matthew 7:14]. The path is hard because the rewards are great. There will be difficulties in whatever life one is called to and areas one will struggle with. But if it is truly the will of God then He gifts us the graces we need.

I cannot remember where, but I read somewhere “God does not call the qualified. He qualifies the called.” I think that sums it up perfectly.

4 thoughts on “Flaws

  1. I have been having trouble with my discernment. I just got back from a retreat to the Poor Clare Monastery and almost the whole time I was confronted with the thought of not being good enough for the life. And since I am so close to entering, I am feeling scared. I guess scared of the unknown. But really, all I have to rely on is Gods grace to help me and to calm me of my fears. While I was there, I was talking with Mother Abbess and I told her that same quote: ” God doesn’t call the qualified, He qualifies the called.” I think that quote is from Saint Therese If I’m not mistaken. Peace be with you Emily!

    • Poor Clares don’t allow live-ins do they? For me, having that live-in experience was so helpful, although I have so much admiration for those who enter without that experience. It must take an incredible amount of trust in the Lord. I saw your video when you got back from the monastery and thought your attitude to it was very mature.

      I will keep your discernment in my prayers. Dominus vobiscum!

      • No they don’t have live-ins. But being able to actually stay a couple days in the exterior guest house was of some help. During my last visit I got to work with Mother Abbess in some of the many gardens on the cloister side! I also got to meet their three big, adorable dogs! I really need to place my full trust in the Lord.

Leave a Reply

