Gloria in excelsis!

And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us. [John 1:14]

The Mystical Nativity – Botticelli

I could go on about Christmas forever. It has always been my favourite day of the year. The birth of Christ Himself has always been to me an incredible wonder. To think of Christ as an infant, to think that He walked this earth just as we do now is one of the most powerful things to possibly comprehend. As a child I used to imagine what it would be like to have seen Christ in the flesh, like His disciples did, and the thought of it left me in awe. It was not until later that I really realised that I already have. I read this beautiful quote the other day that expresses it much better than I could:

One day St. Teresa of Avila heard someone say: “If only I had lived at the time of Jesus… If only I had seen Jesus… If only I had talked with Jesus…” To this she responded: “But do we not have in the Eucharist the living, true and real Jesus present before us? Why look for more?”

Today we celebrate the coming of Christ into the world. He lived and breathed and walked and talked just like you or me. He was like us in all things but sin. And as we think of that day over 2000 years ago, also remember that He has never left us. As Teresa of Avila said, we have the “living, true and real Jesus present before us”. As we celebrate His nativity, He is truly there with us.

I pray you all have a blessed Christmas.

La Vierge Au Lys (The Virgin of the Lilies) – William Adolphe Bouguereau

Leave a Reply

