On My Favourite Saints, Part 2

This is the second part of my favourite saints, you can read the first part here.

Saint Augustine of Hippo

Saint Augustine and Saint Monica, Ary Scheffer

Saint Augustine is famous for having said “God grant me chastity and continence, but not yet.” I have read some small sections of his Confessions and can honestly say it is one of the most beautiful writings I have come across. It is harrowing, and perhaps not for the faint-hearted, but nonetheless his life captured me. As with other saints I have talked about, it was his conversion that inspired me. The way he once lived his life and the way he lived in Christ were so totally apart from each other.

Interestingly, Saint Augustine was greatly influenced and actually baptised by the next saint on this list.

Saint Ambrose of Milan

Mosaic of Saint Ambrose

I have mentioned Saint Ambrose a few times before. I had a dream of taking him as my patron at my clothing, since I was confirmed on his feast day (Funny Coincidences). His appointment as Bishop was something he faced with great reluctance and tried to hide. But he did in the end give himself over to the will of God and I think that is something that speaks to me. To me he is a reminder that we cannot run from the will of God, and that we cannot hide from Him.

Saint Joan of Arc

Painting ca. 1845

The reason I love Saint Joan is simply because of one quote from during her trial. She was asked the question “Do you know whether or not you are in God’s grace?” The question was designed to trick her, but her response was beautiful. “If I am not, may God put me there; and if I am, may God so keep me.” Something about that response just captures me. It speaks of her great love for God, of her humility, of her trust in the Lord.

Saint Bernadette

Photograph of Saint Bernadette

One of my dreams is to go to Lourdes. I remember first hearing about her when I was in RCIA and was just completely taken aback. I had heard of Marian apparitions before of course but never really appreciated them before. A simple little girl was graced with a vision of the Blessed Mother herself. What an incredible and beautiful gift! She helped bring me closer to our Blessed Mother, so for that she will always be special to me.

One thought on “On My Favourite Saints, Part 2

Leave a Reply

