Resignation of the Pope

So unless you’ve been hiding under a rock, the Holy Father has resigned.  I admit I was completely shocked and didn’t believe it for a minute until I checked another news site to make sure. It’s kind of sunk in now, but even when I first heard it the one thing I felt in my heart was that the Holy Father would not have made this decision lightly and unless he truly felt it was the best choice for the Church and in keeping with the will of God. I also felt assured that the Holy Spirit will continue to guide the Church, as always, and guide the cardinals as they choose the next successor of Peter. Some of the reactions from Catholics I know have disappointed me. The Holy Father is not quitting. He is not giving up. His resignation is an act of humility and of ultimate trust in the Lord. He has no desire to stop serving the Church, he is acknowledging that he can serve her better by allowing a new shepherd to take his place.

I wish to also devotedly serve the Holy Church of God in the future through a life dedicated to prayer.

A friend of mine is fundraising for her entrance to religious life, which will hopefully be this summer. She hopes to enter the Marian Sisters of Santa Rosa. Visit her Facebook page for more information, she will have donation links up soon.

Leave a Reply

