Comfort

The ways of the Lord are not comfortable, but we were not created for comfort, but for greatness, for good. [Pope Emeritus Benedict XVI]

As I said in my last post my faith has been tested and strained and faltered and failed. But I made a journey I never thought I ever would because I put my complete trust in God. I had to learn to trust God in a way I never had before, because I had never been pushed like that before. I am not an outside-the-comfort-zone sort of person, but when I felt that pull from God I made a leap I would never have made otherwise. And it was not an easy journey or a comfortable one. I’ve cried and thrown (internal) tantrums in Adoration. I was nearly sick from fear when I was on the hovercraft to St. Cecilia’s. I’ve made some difficult decisions.

If you want a religion to make you feel really comfortable, I certainly don’t recommend Christianity. [C. S. Lewis]

Ultimately, I think I have learnt something very important. I have learnt that doing God’s will is not always easy. Faith does not mean you can sit back and have an easy ride. What it does mean is that you are not alone on the rocky road.

Leave a Reply

