Return

I haven’t blogged in a long time. When I started this blog, it was all about what I thought was my journey to the convent. Had I entered when I planned to, and had I then stayed, I’d be looking at temporary profession now. One thing I found difficult is that my life no longer had a plan, a schedule of what would happen and when. In many ways, religious life seemed very certain and deciding not to go down that path left me feeling adrift.

I can’t say that I know everything. I don’t know exactly what will happen in life and that’s okay. Certainty may be comfortable, but there is also comfort in knowing that I am on the path that I am supposed to be on even if I don’t know where that path might be leading me.

I’ve learnt that I musn’t focus on what my destination is and instead focus on the journey. I’ve come back to blogging because I’ve always found it a good way of processing my thoughts.

3 thoughts on “Return

  1. Gemma says:

    Hi Emily, I remember you from the time you were discerning on a Catholic forum because I was also discerning Religious life.
    I entered the church when I was 21 and felt so in love with God, so spiritual that I looked at being a nun which I soon found wasn’t for me.
    I fell into depression, and during my time discerning I had ignored the interest of a good Catholic man I knew and before I could tell him I was interested too, he moved away.
    This sent me into further depression because I didn’t know what God was doing. I felt so lost and so lonely. I feel like I missed my opportunity at marriage and have no vocation.
    But I need God. I don’t know what Gods doing and I don’t know how much or if God works in people’s lives at all but I’m praying he does.
    We need him in our lives and just have to trust.

  2. Teresa says:

    I dont know if you even remember me at all it has been a few years but your words made my heart go out to you. Remember that God is always fairhful and He loves you. Keep in mind that our relationship with God is not all about feelings or emotions but reaches much deeper. God bless you and you will be in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

